Last MS status update

This will be the last MS status update for a while. The acute phase of this (for which I was hospitalized last month) is obviously long passed. I have improved so much since that time and continue to experience new “firsts.” Two nights ago, Christy and I went to see Silver Linings Playbook (amazing movie), and I drove home. We realized that was the first time Christy had sat in the passenger seat while I was driving in about six weeks. That was an awesome “getting back to normal” moment.

But life with the chronic aspects of MS is well underway. In every way obvious to everyone around me, I’m almost back to normal. I have a lot of work to do, but it’s work with balance, coordination, adjusting to limitations energy-wise, and pain management — stuff that is going to take a long time and may well just be my new normal. Some days feel almost normal lately. Other days I’m back to feeling substantially disabled again. The swings are huge.

One last time, thanks for your prayers, meals, cards, emails, and the really beautiful and thoughtful things many of you took the time to share with me over the last few weeks. I was blown away by the love we received. It meant so much to all of us.

I am a licensed counselor in Michigan. I also teach for Spring Arbor University part-time.

Tagged with:
Posted in MS Status Updates

Leave a Reply

